Make Simple Screencasts without Software Crazy Mouse Pad Couch Free Antivirus Pie Menu Extension for Firefox Top 10 URL-Related Extensions
Collapsed This Week Collapsed CyberNotes
Collapsed Last Week

Latest Scam: Free Gmail Storage Upgrades

August 21st, 2007
6 Comments Written by Ashley


There’s always a scammer lurking around waiting for an unsuspecting victim, and this time it involves Google’s Gmail. Gmail currently offers 2GB of free storage to all users, but an email that many have received offers users more.

The image below shows what the email looks like, and even shows that it’s coming from a Google domain (note: it’s really not).  They explain that the email acts as an invitation for a free upgrade to 10GB of storage along with a free domain name. It then directs you to a site called “Gmail Upgrades” which looks just like you’d be logging into your Gmail account. Obviously you wouldn’t, you’d be giving your email login and password to scammers.

Gmail scam

Just reading the email is enough to set off a few red flags, particularly with the grammar and lack of proper punctuation. I’d think that most people reading this are smart enough to pick-up on the fact that the email isn’t legit, but ya never know! We already talked about the billions of dollars lost to email scams due to people responding to bogus offers for money, which then leaves me wondering how many people responded to this scam?

RSS Icon Enjoyed the post? Subscribe to our feed to get a daily dose of CyberNet!

Tags: Google,

Previous ArticleNext Article
 

Related Posts:


6 Unread Comment Tracking CyberMark This Article
RSS Icon
6

  1. Phillip Black (All-Star) Quote this Comment Report this Comment
    Avatar

    Why do spammers always spell wrong?

  2. Avatar

    It’s a good question, I can only think that either English is not there first language or they are in a big rush to send their 1 million emails out that they forget to run the spell checker!

  3. Avatar

    It says it’s from google.com, but when you click ’show details,’ does it say ’signed by google.com’?

  4. Avatar

    Are you telling me that I’m not going to get that upgrade???

    :lol:

  5. Avatar
    Phillip Black wrote:
    Why do spammers always spell wrong?

    That is definitely the first sign that it is spam, and so I’m glad they always have mistakes.

    natmaster wrote:
    It says it’s from google.com, but when you click ’show details,’ does it say ’signed by google.com’?

    Unfortunately (or maybe fortunately) we don’t have the email to check that, but I doubt they can make it signed by Google.

    CoryC wrote:
    Are you telling me that I’m not going to get that upgrade???

    :lol:

    Maybe you’ll catch it the next time around. :)

  6. Avatar
    Phillip Black wrote:
    Why do spammers always spell wrong?

    I think it’s generally because for most of them, English is their 2nd language.

:mrgreen: :| :twisted: :arrow: 8O :) :? 8) :evil: :D :idea: :oops: :P :roll: ;) :cry: :o :lol: :x :( :!: :?:

Note: All links posted in comments will automatically be hyperlinked.

↓ Expand Text Area  or  Decrease Text Area ↑

 Find out how to track new comments!


 

  1. There aren't any trackbacks or pings yet. You can be the first by using this trackback URL.