Where to go when you’re bored Meanings Behind MIcrosoft Code Names Firefox Extensions that will Impress Your Friends Manage iPod Vista Review
Collapsed This Week Collapsed CyberNotes
Collapsed Last Week

AllofMP3.com Gone Forever? Maybe Not

July 3rd, 2007
18 Comments Written by Ashley


It’s been one tough journey for AllofMP3.com as the RIAA slowly sucked all life out of their music service based in Russia.  Their woes actually started years ago, but more recently you probably remember the $1.65 trillion ($150,000 per violation) lawsuit filed against them in December? Then back in May, AllofMP3 took a hard hit as most of their ways to accept payment were taken away. Without money, the RIAA knew that the service wouldn’t be able to survive for much longer.

If you go to AllofMP3.com, you’ll notice that it’s no longer there. Yep, it’s gone, but not really. The owners of AllofMP3 have decided to start a new website called MP3sparks. It’s just AllofMP3 in disguise with many similarities including cheap music. So while the RIAA is rejoicing, it won’t be for long because they’ll soon have another target to go after.

Mp3sparks

On MP3sparks.com under the legal section they explain that the material on their site is authorized and that they pay fees. They also explain that the user is responsible for knowing whether the site is legal in their country of residence. This information was also displayed on AllofMP3, and we know how legal that was, right?

With some albums being sold for under $2, it is hardly legal despite their claims. It is no different than AllofMP3.com and just another target for the RIAA to go after.  The RIAA has got to be sick of AllofMP3 and their owner, MediaServices by now. They’re like one of those bad reoccurring dreams that never goes away!

RSS Icon Enjoyed the post? Subscribe to our feed to get a daily dose of CyberNet!

Tags: Web Sites, ,

Previous ArticleNext Article
 

Related Posts:


18 Unread Comment Tracking CyberMark This Article
RSS Icon
18

  1. Avatar

    In all sincerity, if this site is illegal will someone please point it out to me in black and white?

  2. Avatar

    In Russia, no, it’s not illegal. In the United States, yes it is illegal. The problem is that they don’t properly pay royalty fees to the artists whose music they sell for dirt cheap which is why the RIAA has been going after them.

  3. Avatar

    Ashley, thanks, perhaps I’m simply ignorant of how the RIAA works.
    These Russian sites claim to pay musician royalties, are they lying? Is the RIAA the only entity to allocate royalties for musicians?
    (you might also tell me how to properly use the quote feature on Cybernet:~ )

  4. Avatar

    I don’t believe the RIAA was the only one going after AllofMp3 but I could be wrong. The RIAA represents the U.S. recording industry and because AllofMP3 sells music from artists they represent, they went after them to get the proper royalties for their artists. There are other organizations that represent other artists in other countries, but I’m sure RIAA is one of the biggest.

    Now on to quoting :) All you have to do is click the quote button on the comment you’d like to quote. You’ll notice that it will place the quoted comment in the comment field (where you type) and it will have quote tags around it ( [ quote] [ /quote] ). You’ll then add your comment after the ending quote tag. Hopefully that makes sense. Just play around with it if you’d like. We can always delete the comment for you.

  5. Avatar

    Does anyone know how to make payments to MP3sparks? :roll:

  6. Avatar

    At the top of the page on the left, look for the link that says “payment methods.” They say they accept both credit and debit cards.

  7. Avatar

    yeah i’ve tried that but it never works. It always tells me that form of payment is down no matter what I select.

  8. Avatar
    edwest wrote:
    Ashley, thanks, perhaps I’m simply ignorant of how the RIAA works.
    These Russian sites claim to pay musician royalties, are they lying? Is the RIAA the only entity to allocate royalties for musicians?

    From what I’ve heard they do pay some kind of royalities, or at least offer to pay them. The problem is that they are only a few pennies per song that they offer and the RIAA rejects the payments since they are not up to their standards.

    ryan wrote:
    yeah i’ve tried that but it never works. It always tells me that form of payment is down no matter what I select.

    I think they are just having some troubles right now, check back a little later when millions of people arent’ bombarding the new site.

  9. Avatar

    You can’t actually pay yet, it just says the payment method is not available yet.

  10. Avatar

    Ryan ventured;

    cgi.ebay.com] rel="nofollow">

    From what I’ve heard they do pay some kind of royalties, or at least offer to pay them. The problem is that they are only a few pennies per song that they offer and the RIAA rejects the payments since they are not up to their standards.

    Ok, I’m trying the quote & linking of the name & probably fouling it up:~) If so feel free to hit the ‘get-outta-here button.’

    Thanks to Ryan and Ashley for their indulgence on my ?. I’ve been using [gomusic.ru] since Allofmp3 went black.
    I try to do everything on the up& up so am honestly wanting to understand this. So, RIAA represents United States muscians and is basically telling AllofMP3, now MP3Sparks, you gotta play by our rules and gives us the buckos we want or it’s nothing doing. Yes?

    And the Russians sites are saying we are doing our part and are legal.

  11. Avatar

    Yep, you got it exactly right. AllofMP3 did operate legally under the Russian law but that did not coincide with the American law when it came to paying the royalties.

    It kinda reminds me of software that you can buy on the side of the street in some countries. Deep down you know that it is wrong when Windows costs just a few dollars, yet they assure you that it is completely legal.

  12. Avatar

    If anyone is still tuned in here, MP3Sparks has been off-line for days now.

  13. Avatar

    Oh wow, you’re right. People were saying that AllOfMP3.com users can transfer their balances over to AllTunes now.

  14. Avatar

    AllTunes and AllofMP3 are one and the same I thought. A check of their site (AllTunes) gets you the same response as AllofMP3 as far as adding buckos to your accounto.

  15. Avatar

    Wow, that didn’t last very long!

  16. Avatar

    There’s always [gomusic.ru] though they don’t have quite the library AllofMP3 had.

  17. Avatar

    One of my biggest concerns with these sites is giving them my credit card number… you just never know these days!

  18. Avatar

    Ashley, I feel the same way which is why I have an account with only enough money for such a thing. I make sure to transfer enough to cover and that is all. It’s an account in which no minimum is required.

:mrgreen: :| :twisted: 8O :) :? 8) :evil: :D :oops: :P :roll: ;) :cry: :o :lol: :x :(
↓ Expand Text Area  or  Decrease Text Area ↑

 Find out how to track new comments!