Disable ds store filesMac users are likely familiar with the .DS_Store files that are scattered throughout the Mac filesystem. These files are basically equivalent to the desktop.ini and Thumbs.db files on Windows machines. The .DS_Store files are there to save folder-specific customizations such as custom icons, icon arrangement/layout, custom backgrounds, and more. Generally these files are hidden from plain sight, but if you enable hidden files in OS X you will see these floating all around your system.




If you don’t need these settings being saved you can use the free Asepsis to prevent the files from ever getting created again. What Asepsis does is detect when something is trying to create one of these files, and redirects the creation of the .DS_Store to a special folder that will forever be hidden from your eyes.

There are a couple of things to note. First, Asepsis won’t go digging through your machine finding and removing the existing .DS_Store files. If a .DS_Store file already exists (such as on a network share) your machine will continue to use it. If you delete the .DS_Store file Asepsis will kick in and make sure it doesn’t get recreated. The second thing worth noting is that users have reported problems with Xcode 4.2 and Glims when using Asepsis, which means you may want to proceed with caution if you rely on either of those apps.

Asepsis Homepage (Mac OS X Lion only; Freeware)