Dan emailed me this link and told me to open it. He didn’t say much other than it was a forgery site so I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. It was obviously a link to some sort of Google site but in Firefox 2 I was prompted with this:

Firefox Forgery

I decided to help out by clicking the “This isn’t a web forgery” link so I’m not sure how long this will remain flagged as a forgery. I also tested the link in Internet Explorer but it is okay there. I wonder how this ever happened?

  1. That’s a bit odd – the Mozilla start page is a Google page, maybe the warning comes up because of the .au sub-domain name?

  2. erm… before i clicked the button, i thought, “how do i know there are no non-ascii chars in that name?!”
    well, what’s an easy way to check that? i’ve no idea!

    this also raises questions about the forgery submission process and management.. hmmm.

  3. That is a test page so people can see that their forgery protection works. If you take off all those variables from the end of the URL it doesn’t give you that warning.

  4. @Anonymous on Oct 19, 2006 at 11:22 AM
    i think you’re wrong, this is the default homepage copied from FF2.0 RC2
    [en-US.start.mozilla.com]
    looks the same to me, except for the region of course.

  5. Smiff is right that this is not a test page. The test page that Google has setup is this one:

    [google.com]

  6. It is no longer coming up as forgery, but still what is with the Australian domain? :?:

  7. I’m guessing it’s the Australian version… :P

  8. look at the address. actually read it this time. its com.au — an isp. someone signed up for google.com.au and put that site up. it IS a forgery, and this is a perfect example of why forgeries are so dangerous. even told explicitly that it is a forgery, you don’t see it/believe it.

  9. Umm…that is still owned by Google. That is just the Australian version of the Google homepage.

    Google has already removed the site from being a forgery so this no longer works.