For a limited time you can download and use AVG 7.5 Professional Antivirus (RapidShare & MegaUpload mirrors) for free. For those of you running the always-free version of AVG there are some advantages to making the upgrade, such as advanced scanning and scheduling options.
I haven’t installed this myself because I’ve already bought a subscription to the ESET Smart Security suite, but from what I’ve read the file that you download will automatically enter in a valid serial number during the installation process. There is no word as to how long the subscription is good for, but I’m guessing one year.
AVG 7.5 Professional retails for $29.95, and this offer is good until January 17, 2008. It can only be used for personal use.
Download AVG 7.5 Pro Antivirus for Free [RapidShare & MegaUpload mirrors]

Now what would make AVG give out this sort of offer. I guess too many people are happy with their free version ,and AVG want them to try the paid version to let em know what they are missing.
How long is it worth?
Why isn’t there any official announcement in AVG web page? Isn’t that a bit suspicious?
I think it’s probably safe, this time of year software publishers will offer things like this hoping you will stick with the paid version when the subscription runs out. If you are really suspicious use Returnil ([returnilvirtualsystem.com]) to install it and test it before doing a real install. That way you don’t gunk up your system if it tuns out not to be a keeper.
It’s pretty obvious to me why AVG would provide an offer like this. If people get a free year of AVG Pro, then when that ends they can try and push the users to pay to renew their subscription. It’s a marketing tactic that is used all of the time, especially from companies like McAfee and Symantec who often offer their products for free on new computers.
So don’t be surprised that they’re doing this, but just be prepared to change antivirus apps in a year if you don’t want to pay.
Why is there a warning: “We strongly recommend you back-up any important files on your computer and that you set a System Restore point (for Windows XP or Vista users) before installing the software”?
Will our PCs crash or something?
Hosted on Rapidshare? That seems mighty weird to me.
It is always a good idea to make a backup before doing anything like installing software. You never know when something will go wrong and Murphy is around way too often to take chances. Be safe.
AVG’s detection is definitely one of the better of the AVs.
Some apps that are as tightly integrated into the OS as an antivirus have been known to cause blue screens of death upon startup if there is a compatibility issue. I think they say that just to cover their butt.
It was uploaded by someone else, and it’s not an official mirror.
So has anyone tried this? I’m afraid of the BSOD. Hahaha
I’ve never gotten a BSoD from AVG before, so I don’t think you have anything to worry about. The last time I got a BSoD from an antivirus app was when I tried to install AOL Active Virus Shield on Vista, which wasn’t deemed compatible with Vista. So it was really my own fault. Booting into Safe Mode would always give you the option to remove the program should you encounter a BSoD.
I hope that AVG Professional can detect Bagle.DJ. Last December my computer was infected by such a virus with a direct attack to AVG.exe (Free edition). After the attack it was impossible to install any kind of antiviruses. I had to implement drastic measures to eliminate it.
Has anyone tried this yet??? I would like it, but it seems to suspicious’
A lot of people have tried it and confirmed that it’s real.
Rapidshare link not working?
Looks like they were probably forced to remove it. The other one still works though.
The above ‘offer’ was fake, there was no such offer.
You can always try AVG AntiVirus, as well as the other editions, as a trial edition for 30 days for free. But you should always go to the official site, where you can also find a local reseller. Rapidshare links are definitely not used for AVG distribution
The offer was not fake. There are several other sites that have confirmed it was real, and the Rapidshare link was a BACKUP because the main site was getting hammered so hard.